* Now
* Archives
* Disclaimer
* Bio
* Cast
* AIM
* Guestbook
* E-mail
* Notes
* Survey
* Profile
* Reviews
* Quizzes
* Rings
* Reads
* Fanclub
* Clix Me!

All Content and Code �2000-2006 by Red

Hosted by DiaryLand.

Mental Exhaustion
12 February 2003 @ 12:44 a.m.
The current mood of redness at www.imood.com

Mental exhaustion.

What's the best way to mentally exhaust Red? Make me interact with the socially inept for long periods of time in close quarters. It's that simple. Kids that have a hard time finding when to jump into a conversation or even how to carry an intellegent conversation with one another are tiresome - I assume to themselves as well.

Hell, if I had to listen and look at myself each day when I knew that my social skills were less than average, even for a geek, I'd shut up right quick and learn from those around me. You know, I honestly never understood how people can be brought up without communication skills. And I'm not talking complex directions or negotiating peace treaties, I'm talking about carrying on a conversation discussing what's on television.

I am a huge supporter of basic English grammar and structure courses in Universities around the US. I support courses which encourage simple communications - especially among those in heavy sciences. I'm beginning to see more and more of these socially inept kids come through - raised with their Nintendos and Segas and divorced parents and play dates.

My kids will not have play dates. They will be sent out to interact with the neighborhood on their own. They will be taught manners and things like you look someone in the eye when you are speaking to them.

My kids will not be waddlers who have the nervous wobble. I couldn't handle the mental strain just from listening to them speak day in and day out.

ugh.

I'm done for the night. Tired, becoming cranky, hopeful for Thursday. . . 36 hours from now.

currenlty reading: Temple of the Winds - Terry Goodkind
currently listening: Romantic Jazz station of Netscape Radio

PREV - NEXT