* Now
* Archives
* Disclaimer
* Bio
* Cast
* AIM
* Guestbook
* E-mail
* Notes
* Survey
* Profile
* Reviews
* Quizzes
* Rings
* Reads
* Fanclub
* Clix Me!

All Content and Code �2000-2006 by Red

Hosted by DiaryLand.

Winding down with the Parentals
16 February 2003 @ 9:04 a.m.
The current mood of redness at www.imood.com

Here I am again, waking up in the morning to his gentle breathing. Facing his back, my arm over his shoulders. He's gently nudging me awake as my first alarm is going off.

What better way to wake up?

Sleep was good last night. The two of us tired from the last few days. We stayed in and ordered a pay-per-view and made grilled cheese. Curled up on the couch together for the night. Only ones in the house.

Past 12 hours have been perfect.

Carnival is coming to an end. The results were announced last night for everything and we did awesome. Took third place overall, which just rocked my world. My kids did fantastic.

The parental units are in town too. Arrived yesterday. Had to see me with their own eyes instead of just hearing my voice over the phone or reading letters. First time the mother has been here in the winter time. Have been living here for over five years now and this is her first winter visit. But she had to make the huge drive here to see me. They are all worried about my back and legs. I was all stiff yesterday from all the activities for the previous few days. The look on their faces as I slowly made it down the stairs to greet them.

I honestly don't know who is more scared that I may be getting bad again, them or me.

J isn't scared. At least he doesn't show it. But he's been treating me with a whole lot more care than normal. Last night I sat on his back and instead of throwing me off and wrestling around he just asked me to get off and explained that he wanted to throw me but couldn't.

He's been so much better about being here and helping me and just, well, being here, than the three kids I live with.

Told the parentals that I was getting my own place. The father was like whatever. The mother asked a million questions. I don't need their approval, but what kind of daughter am I to just up and move and send a postcard a day later with the new address and phone number? They liked the idea of a groundfloor single with laundry.

Now all I have to do is tell the kids.

currently reading: Temple of the Winds - Terry Goodkind
currenlty listening: J's breathing *smiles*

PREV - NEXT