* Now
* Archives
* Disclaimer
* Bio
* Cast
* AIM
* Guestbook
* E-mail
* Notes
* Survey
* Profile
* Reviews
* Quizzes
* Rings
* Reads
* Fanclub
* Clix Me!

All Content and Code �2000-2006 by Red

Hosted by DiaryLand.

Twenty-something Rant
06 April 2003 @ 11:56 a.m.
The current mood of redness at www.imood.com

Woke up this morning desireless again. No desire to head into work like I must here in about an hour. No deisre to even get dressed - my robe is incredibly comfy right now. I'm all snuggled up next to my heater listening to the soft music. Can't I stay here all day?

Now I must begin another housemate rant. This isn't directed at the house though, more directly at them and their lack of common sense. Yesterday I spent the entire day cleaning out all the little crevices of the first floor. It was great stress-relief for me. I asked one of the housemates, since she was going out anyway, to pick up some trash bags and take the soda cans back. She looked at me, and stated "Oh yeah, we need trash bags don't we?" We ran out of trash bags last week - the trash has been piling up in the pantry in paper bags just sitting open. Common sense would say "Oh hey, I should pick up garbage bags while I'm at the store today". The housemate just throws the food waste on the floor.

Example two. It hurts for me to push the vaccuum cleaner these days. I know, what a wimp, but it does. So I asked the other housemate if he could vaccuum while I scrubbed all the dishes down. He agreed, but didn't do it. Last night around 2:00am we were talking with some of the kids, and I mentioned that I would appreciate it if he would actually vaccuum in the morning. He then agrees again, then asks "How long has it been since the floor has been vaccuumed?" I tell him that it's been about six days, but that I usually like to do it every four or five days, especially the first floor with all its traffic. His eyes lit up and was like "Are you serious? Why haven't I noticed before?" I almost screamed at him, but instead I proceded to tell him that it has always been apparent to me that he and the other housemates are unaware of what sort of work goes into cleaning and maintaining a home. Inside I was screaming "How the fuck did he think the carpets got cleaned?!?!?"

Example three. The mail. We have this great little table in the entryway with the phone, answering machine, phone books, and take-out menus on it. It's where I throw my keys and we keep boots under it. This is where I usually leave the mail. This is where all the Brothers who lived in the house before me left the mail. Everyone can see it then as they walk in. Simple, easy, noticable. The housemates now like to take all the mail into the main part of the house with them. I've seen it on the magazine table in the living room (where you wouldn't notice bills mixed in with the numerous magazines we get), I've seen it just thrown on the couches randomly, I've seen it tucked under a bookbag on the little chair that sits behind the couch. Why on earth would they hide the mail? The best part is, they don't realize it. They assume that everyone is going to dig through the entire first floor to see if they got a letter. Now I get a lot of mail. That happens when you have bills as well as friends around the world. I swear I have lost letters in the daily mail shuffle.

I feel sorry for these kids I live with. Two of them will be going out to live on their own next year and I can just picture their apartments. It makes me sad because I know that these three are not isolated - there are huge numbers of 19-22 year olds out there who don't know where to purchase a mop, how to forward their mail, wash their clothes, shovel a walk, or even make coffee. These are the type who will be my future co-workers. My fellow voters. My fellow tax-payers. And to think, these are the college educated ones - they are supposed to be the intellegent of the world.

Ugh, I'm done. Click on the CLIX link and redeem my view of the world.

currently reading: Faith of the Fallen - Terry Goodkind
currently listening: 90s Alternative station from Netscape Radio

PREV - NEXT