* Now
* Archives
* Disclaimer
* Bio
* Cast
* AIM
* Guestbook
* E-mail
* Notes
* Survey
* Profile
* Reviews
* Quizzes
* Rings
* Reads
* Fanclub
* Clix Me!

All Content and Code �2000-2006 by Red

Hosted by DiaryLand.

Ramblings
16 April 2003 @ 11:07 p.m.
The current mood of redness at www.imood.com

Cold has returned, yet again, to the UP. My fancy French manicure is chipping from work and everyday wear and tear. Make-up doesn't stay on the face as I rub my cheeks and eyes to stay awake. The snow has almost left the front yard, leaving behind all the remnants of the winter's festivities and wind storms. Icy wind off the lake whips through my old windows.

The bland world is back. Life has returned to normal.

I spent this evening on campus attempting to get caught up on all my coursework. There is something inherently frustrating yet calming about a university computer lab. The one I am "assigned" to for my department is crap - I hardly ever go there. It's in a basement and painted this horrific blue color. Part of me misses the industrial feeling to the old lab from the old major. But I couldn't get access to that lab. Instead, I use my resources to use the comfy, serene, mellow, plant-filled, feng-shui humanities computing labs. I like the chairs in there. Good back support. It is virtually impossible to stray off-track in that lab as well, wheras the industrial fish-bowl was loud with machine parts being thrown around and people consistantly chattering about iDeas or Matlab issues.

Anyway, finished the take-home exam I'd been avoiding for days. Started on bunches more. All for one course. I'm starting to wonder what this term would have been like if I had gone full-time. I probably wouldn't be here right now.

I went for a drive today to prevent yet another emotional outburst. Wound up driving past the new apartment building. The roof just went on it. How fantastic will it be to sleep under a brand new insulated roof? I haven't done that in years. Cabins at camp aren't insulated, the House has no insulation in the roof, and well, other than that all I've stayed in are tents or crashing at friends' places for short periods of time. It's such a simple thing that people take for granted - insulation. To think, next year when I sit at my computer desk I will not have a draft sweeping over the desk whenever the wind blows.

That thought alone is encouraging. Definitly worth the extra $90/month for the new place. Definitly.

currently reading: Faith of the Fallen - Terry Goodking
currently listening: -

PREV - NEXT