* Now
* Archives
* Disclaimer
* Bio
* Cast
* AIM
* Guestbook
* E-mail
* Notes
* Survey
* Profile
* Reviews
* Quizzes
* Rings
* Reads
* Fanclub
* Clix Me!

All Content and Code �2000-2006 by Red

Hosted by DiaryLand.

Sledgehammer Fun
26 April 2003 @ 4:56 p.m.
The current mood of redness at www.imood.com

There is nothing as satisfying as taking a sledgehammer to electronics. Nothing.

In honor of the movie Office Space, the kids and I have a little tradition each spring before finals week. We gather up old electronics - computer monitors, power sources, VCRs, keyboards, printers, CPUs, and TVs - pull out the axes, shovels, and sledgehammers and just go at it. This year resulted in destroying the tarp and kiddie pool that hold the parts and keyboard keys scattered all around Ari's backyard. It was fantastic.

My shining moment was backed by the music of the Bloodhound Gang's "I Hope You Die" as I donned the work gloves and safety goggles. I held up the sledge hammer and announced that this song and the blows to follow were dedicated to J and his best friend. I then threw a set of speakers into the carnage and began to destroy. As soon as I said that, Ari started shouting for everyone to get back (I had told her about the whole J thing last night) because she thought I would swing at them if they were close enough. Three and a half minutes of beating the shit out of old monitors, speakers, and motherboards is so calming.

And they say catharsis doesn't work. Ha!

Every year we do this, I always wonder what the neighbors think. We know that have to hear us. Between the rock music blaring and the sound of monitors exploding (they do really explode when struck when they haven't been discharged) no one in the neighborhood could NOT know what we were up to.

I am in an incredibly good mood today. I hope that I stay this carefree for a few days - at least until I finish up the last of the coursework for the semester. Sure, finals are approaching but I don't care. Over the past few years I have found that finals week is actually less stressful for me than every other week during the term.

Tonight I plan on hiding in one of my favorite spots. I need to finish reading this book before Monday. So far fairly decent considering we're using it as a textbook.

I noticed that I have been ending all of my entries lately with "With that, I . . ." which is an awful way to end a statement. Apparently, when I am burned out I completely lose my vocabulary and writing skills. Yet another reason to run away for two or three months.

currently reading: "That's Not What We Meant to Do": Reform and its Unintended Consequences - Steven Gillon
currently listening: -

PREV - NEXT