* Now
* Archives
* Disclaimer
* Bio
* Cast
* AIM
* Guestbook
* E-mail
* Notes
* Survey
* Profile
* Reviews
* Quizzes
* Rings
* Reads
* Fanclub
* Clix Me!

All Content and Code �2000-2006 by Red

Hosted by DiaryLand.

The Lake
01 May 2003 @ 12:33 a.m.
The current mood of redness at www.imood.com

The good spirits, God and Mother Nature got together tonight and gave me a present. It was an event of sheer beauty and it was all mine. Why mine? The color matched my hair perfectly that�s why.

I drove out to one of the local beaches this evening to spend some quality time with the water. I chose a beach with numerous good memories; many of the others have some sort of hurt associated with them. I arrived just as the sun was beginning to kiss the western horizon. Lake Superior was calm as glass stretching as far as my little eyes could see. The lighthouse was beginning to shine to help guide the ships of years past away from the rocky shore. The deep blue water shimmered with gold throughout the kiss. Gold turned to orange lights dancing across the water. The sky was filled with rays of soft yellow light streaming through the scant clouds. Orange began to turn to red once the orb disappeared.

The entire sky burst into this awesome red-orange that made my hair just glow. The north winds picked up a bit causing the lake to lap at my feet. The tiny waves caused the orangey light to dance everywhere. Orange grew to red as the sky behind me darkened. Red slowly began to fade to a deep indigo. The dancing lights retreated towards the horizon. A young couple were laughing in one of the nearby stairs, sharing the sunset with me. My sunset.

The remaining rays kissed the sky a vivid purple before fading. I held my jacket close as the memories flew through my head. Remembering the first bonfire and games when I first moved here. Swimming with the first friends that September so long ago. The summer following driving the Beast out to the beach with J for one of the most wonderful afternoons one could ever spend at the beach. I stared down into the icy clear water watching the red and gray rocks wobble in the soft waves. Reminding me why I love the Lake and all its parts. Reminding me of the days I have spent with friends in its presence.

But as most early Spring nights, the wind picked up and it grew extremely cold very quickly. So I drove back home the long way admiring the scenery of the area. I may be incredibly lonely now that I live here without my support group, but it is still the most beautiful country ever. I wish it were possible to transplant everyone I truly cared for up here where we could live in harmony with the Lake and the hills. A long time ago, J and I talked about raising our children here. I remember why now.

currently reading: -
currently listening: Dave Matthews - Under Table and Dreaming

PREV - NEXT