* Now
* Archives
* Disclaimer
* Bio
* Cast
* AIM
* Guestbook
* E-mail
* Notes
* Survey
* Profile
* Reviews
* Quizzes
* Rings
* Reads
* Fanclub
* Clix Me!

All Content and Code �2000-2006 by Red

Hosted by DiaryLand.

Bad Timing
02 May 2003 @ 4:14 p.m.
The current mood of redness at www.imood.com

I am the Queen of Bad Timing. I am the Queen of the Blind as well. Why? Let's talk about last night's events.

Last night began night one of the packing. I was sprawled out on my floor sorting through the last four years of bills, paperwork, and receipts. The music was blaring, candles burning - everything I needed for a good night to myself. T called and demanded that I meet him at the "dance club" (I use that term VERY loosely) the next town over. I think I agreed, but I don't remember exactly. No more than five minutes later, Ari calls and states that she will be over in ten minutes to pick me up - we're going bowling tonight. It's $3 pitchers and glow bowling. So I run a comb through my mane, grab the wallet, cigarettes, and free bowling passes. Wind up at the bowling alley with Ari, Chewba, and several others. Go up to the bar to get the pitchers and shoes and lo and behold, Bass Player is bartending there.

I haven't seen him in about a month, but as soon as he realized I was there it was the same old game of staring from afar. Hey, he remembered that I drink rum & cokes though, because he kept those coming all night.

Anyway, bowling was exactly what I needed. Chewba and one of the other kids pounded back three pitchers on their own, I bowled over a 90 both games (yes this is good for me and my little 6 lb. pink ball), everyone was laughing and dancing around to the music. Night rolls on and Chewba and I are sitting next to each other - very closely. Somehow the topic of conversation came to how I've been single for the last two years. No play whatsoever single. One of the guys, whom I have known since my first week living here, starts in on how I must be oblivious because there are guys who are interested. This is when Chewba starts leaning back, pointing at himself, toasting to everyone, etc etc etc. Here I'm thinking it's the normal game of how he and I joke around about the time about four years ago we dated briefly.

No. It isn't. I'm just blind because he's wanted to try dating again for a while now. Begin incessant flirting here - but very mild incessant flirting. Drinking and bowling continued, Chewba and I talked a bit but definitely needed a bit of time in a less noisy environment to figure out exactly what he wants.

1:00 a.m. rolls around, we've bowled two games, drank too much, so it's time to leave. We go up to the bar to pay (I love free bowling passes), and Bass Player comes up next to me,

"You're Red, right?"

"Hi. Yeah."

"That's with an 'R', right?"

"Um yeah, of course."

"I knew it. I'm Bass."

"I remember. From the last time we met" (note: we are both plastered at this point, though me less than him)

"Nice. So where are you all headed now? It's still early yet."

"Thinking about heading to the 'dance club' for a bit, make an appearance then move on. I dunno for certain."

"Oh, well, I'm heading to the Dog. Time to catch last call there. So I'll see you there, eh?"

That's right, kids, Bass Player asked me in his drunken little way to meet him at one of my favorite bars. So little me walks back over to the group with a dazed look in my eyes repeating obscenities quietly under my breath.

Here Chewba finally admits that there could still be something between us, but then the man I've had a crush on for months just invites me out.

So what does the little red girl do? That's right, she tells everyone what just happened.

Plans were changed immediately - they insisted that I meet up with Bass. So we all loaded up into the jeeps and drove off. Chewba, Ari, and myself are in the car and they�re discussing bailing out strategies while all I could think about was how horrible the timing was for something like this. Chewba had just admitted something so sincere and so heavy, but Bass Player whispers one thing in my ear and I�m off running to him.

Get to the Dog, he meets me at the door. �I�m supposed to give you a hug,� he says. The voices in my head are screaming in utter confusion � I came all the way over here drunk off my arse for that? But we sat down at the bar and began to talk. He buys me another rum & coke and explains that sometime ago, one of my friends approached him and said that I had a crush on him. I didn�t deny it, and actually went on to explain what the visual crush was out loud while secretly I wanted to hunt down this �friend� and shoot them for telling him. He was shocked that I found him good looking with �greasy hair, glasses, and all�. He then went on to explain that he was indeed looking for �female companionship� but he was graduating Saturday. That�s right kids, in two days.

The Queen of Bad Timing strikes again!

Before I could say anything, he continued on about how he�s a typical lonely engineer and went to the internet personal ads. Well, see, I put some up as a test of sorts a while back. I don�t even remember what sites they are on anymore because I NEVER got hits from them. Well, he found one that had a compatibility thing and lo and behold, I was there . . . we�re 100% compatible apparently. 100%. Oh but he�s graduating this weekend.

We talked for a while, shared a cigarette or four, and determined that we found each other interesting, but that was all. Nothing more. He wound up taking a drunken friend home and I wound up beating myself up and complaining to Ari and Chewba. That�s right, I complained about my bad timing to the person who just admitted that they think we should give it another go. He gave me this huge hug � the kind only Chewba can give � as we walked out of the bar and whispered into my ear that we need to have a serious conversation here pretty quick-like.

*sigh*

There's so much more that has happened. . . but I need to straighten out my thoughts before I put them down to "paper". Let's see if the Queen strikes again tonight.

currently reading: -
currently listening: the radio

PREV - NEXT