* Now
* Archives
* Disclaimer
* Bio
* Cast
* AIM
* Guestbook
* E-mail
* Notes
* Survey
* Profile
* Reviews
* Quizzes
* Rings
* Reads
* Fanclub
* Clix Me!

All Content and Code �2000-2006 by Red

Hosted by DiaryLand.

Flying High
09 May 2003 @ 9:07 a.m.
The current mood of redness at www.imood.com

I still feel like hell. This is no good. No good at all. Why? The flight downstate is going to be awful.

So here's a fear of mine - travelling alone. Almost exactly one year ago today, I flew downstate to the Parentals' place for the first time. Before that I always drove myself. The Mother doesn't like the fact that I drive over ten hours each way, so she insisted that I fly. Seemed like a good idea to me so I booked the flight and everything. J dropped me off at the airport, said goodbye with a hug, and I boarded the little prop-plane. This was the very first time I had ever flown alone, but I figured that since I was well over 20 and an independant person I could handle it. I was so incredibly wrong. Flying over Lake Superior in a little prop-plane during high winds is the scariest thing I have ever done on purpose. The noise was too much for me, not having anyone's hand to hold was terrifying. When the plane landed at the first stop, I ran to the payphone to call J to come get me - I couldn't handle that flying over Lake Michigan. But I made it down to Metro where I switched to a jet for the final leg of the trip. Other than the two hour delay, the last bit of that trip was fine. The flight back up here was much better, but only because I ran into an old camp friend on the prop-plane.

My flight leaves in a few hours. The rain is just beginning to fall and it's supposed to continue all day. I checked the weather for all of the airports I'll be going through; all but one call for gusty wind and rain. So I'm scared again. I don't want to do this alone in bad weather when I'm feeling nasty. I honestly can't think of any positives about this trip other than I'm finally using up the plane ticket that was meant for my Spring Break to North Carolina and Virginia.

I have so much to do before I leave. Shame I'm feeling so sluggish today. Must get laundry done and finish packing before my hair appointment. That's right, I scheduled a hair appointment right before my flight. I figured I should at least look presentable for the Mother. We haven't seen each other in months and a big part of me wants to prove to them that I'm "OK".

Now off to finish the laundry. . . .

currently reading: The Rowan - Ann McCaffrey
currently listening: the radio

PREV - NEXT