* Now
* Archives
* Disclaimer
* Bio
* Cast
* AIM
* Guestbook
* E-mail
* Notes
* Survey
* Profile
* Reviews
* Quizzes
* Rings
* Reads
* Fanclub
* Clix Me!

All Content and Code �2000-2006 by Red

Hosted by DiaryLand.

Denist Time
29 May 2003 @ 10:04 a.m.
The current mood of redness at www.imood.com

My mouth has metal in it again. It's been about six years since I got the last bit of metal out but here I am with it again. Only totally different. Totally new. Tottally odd.

I have my very first cavity.

Tuesday morning the Mother had an appointment at the dentist. She and the receptionist are all buddy buddy and the two of them decide that I hadn't been to the dentist in a bit but there just happened to be a cancellation for Wednesday afternoon. I got home from galavanting around Tuesday night to discover this appointment had been made for me. Fine, whatever.

A little background: I am not afraid of the dentist. I have no anxiety, dislike, pain, fear, etc from the man with the little metal tools. When my very first teeth came in, they immediatly rotted out. My baby teeth were AWFUL in every way shape and form. I spent a huge part of my childhood having implants put in, teeth pulled, sealants applied, etc. BUT I have never had a cavity (that I wasn't born with). That is, until now.

The dentist (this is a new guy too - late 20s, good skin, fantastic eyes hidden behind glasses, dark hair, knows his way around the UP even) took a look at the full mouth X-rays his little nurse took when I first got in there. "Well you haven't spent much time in the dentist chair" he remarked as he noted the lack of fillings, crowns, or overall tooth nastiness. I, of course, laughed and told him simply that I had probably spent more time in the chair than most of his patients. Then went on to explain everything. So he begins his poking and prodding and notices a crack in the sealant of my upper right molar (I only have one - don't ask). He picks at it a bit - I assume he's going to pull the sealant off and I could go home with a sticker. Oh no, there is a tiny tiny itty bitty very shallow baby cavity in the crack. I'll need a filling.

My very first cavity and I'm in my twenties. How crazy is that?

Anyway, they did the filling within a half hour or so. Cute dentist was surprised, but not shocked, that I took the shot in my jaw without flinching and didn't budge with the drill. I mean hell, I've endured spinal surgery as well as having all of my teeth pulled out. What's a little shot in the jaw? jeez.

But now I have a filling. I REALLY want to see it but I don't have the proper mirror configuration. So I just have to take his word for it that there is a tiny piece of metal back there.

I used the new dental work to convince the Father that I needed to have a smoothie for my evening snack and so did he. The man needs to loose weight, and admits this, but then eats crap. So I'm slowly changing his evening snack diet. I think he now thinks the smoothies (which are fat-free, low cal and low carb) are candy. Let's hope.

currently reading: Damia's Children - Anne McCaffrey
currently listening: NPR Talk Radio

PREV - NEXT