* Now
* Archives
* Disclaimer
* Bio
* Cast
* AIM
* Guestbook
* E-mail
* Notes
* Survey
* Profile
* Reviews
* Quizzes
* Rings
* Reads
* Fanclub
* Clix Me!

All Content and Code �2000-2006 by Red

Hosted by DiaryLand.

Early Exhaustion
04 June 2003 @ 12:47 a.m.
The current mood of redness at www.imood.com

Oh my goodness am I tired. I'm so tired that I can't quite fall asleep - almost like I'm past the extreme exhaustion now that I'm on my third wind.

The big interview was this morning. My hair - fantastic. I was honestly surprised with how well the interview went as well as how long it was. I talked with the Human Resources Director of the hotel for about an hour. I think she was surprised with how much experience I have without actually having bartending experience. Now comes the fun part: the waiting. I have to call back Friday afternoon to see the results. My gut is telling me I didn't get the job. I hate the fact that my gut is usually correct whenever it has an opinion, especially when it says that I won't be making any money.

There was a scared, nervous looking kid sitting outside the office waiting for his interview. Looked to be about 18 and was just about as tight as a person could be. I smiled and tried to make chit chat with him as I waited for my credit check, but I think I just freaked him out more. Oh well, might as well scare the competition away.

Drive back into town was incredibly nice - cloudy, clear back farm roads, me cruisin' along in my heels with Beck turned all the way up. I was able to enjoy a cigarette, something I haven't had in what seems like forever. I should have just driven right to the lake to complete the serenity I was feeling. It was almost a euphoria I felt so great.

But instead I went into the elementary school and lent a helping hand with The Mother's classroom of hooligans. The kids aren't so bad, it's just that they have no drive to learn or to be in school and it's burned out most of the teachers on that "team". So I come in and help out with their little field trip/treat out to a local restaurant.

Let me toot my own horn here for a minute, I am fantastic at corraling and herding children along. I can get kids from point A to point B in record time without complaints. Is it possible to find a career in herding children between the ages of 9 and 16?

The afternoon with the kids was fun, but it tired me right out. Between breaking up a fight, teaching a kid who was being picked on that being a geek really is a good thing (the bully didn't know what hit him when I started talking up how cool geeks are - stupid kid), correcting papers, and corralling children on top of the stress of a job interview and dealing with being the Parentals' maid I'm just about spent.

It's FAR too early in the summer to be burned out. Especially when I haven't earned a damn cent for the brain fry.

The kids want me back for the rest of the week. The Mother wants me to spend my afternoons there so I can corral the hooligans while she deals with the real students. I guess it fills my time, but I'd rather be paid for the work I put in.

But now, the third wind is dying out and my bed has started it's little chant beckoning me. Maybe tonight I'll be able to read more than a page before I pass out. Yeah right.

currently reading: Lyon's Pride - Anne McCaffrey
currently listening: pop radio. . . no, I don't know why

PREV - NEXT