* Now
* Archives
* Disclaimer
* Bio
* Cast
* AIM
* Guestbook
* E-mail
* Notes
* Survey
* Profile
* Reviews
* Quizzes
* Rings
* Reads
* Fanclub
* Clix Me!

All Content and Code �2000-2006 by Red

Hosted by DiaryLand.

TV Subcultures
20 June 2003 @ 12:48 a.m.
The current mood of redness at www.imood.com

For the past six hours or so, I decided to sit my little butt down in front of the television and just vegg out. The combination of finally getting a job (did I mention that I got the job I had the call back for � that�s right, I deserve a standing ovation), the house to myself, a beautiful sunny day, a light breeze flowing through the room, a six pack of Mike�s Hard Lemonade, a frozen pizza and the overall air of sexual frustration led me to hours of Friends reruns, ancient episodes of Two Guys a Girl and a Pizza Place, MTV, VH1, and HGTV. Well that and the normal Thursday night lineup followed now of course by Letterman and Craig Kilburn.

This has been a fantastic evening that has led me to the following conclusions:

* Day fantasies that include Lance Bass really are decent and I may decide to have another sometime soon.
* Two Guys a Girl and a Pizza Place totally messed with my head when they changed their name to Two Guys and a Girl. But I am ever grateful to the We network for airing it all over again.
* Craig Kilburn and numnum could be brothers they look so much alike. Though Craig�s ears are WAAAY bigger.
* My dog doesn�t like the monkey, you know Ross� pet on Friends. In fact she ran from the room whenever the monkey came onto the screen.
* Tonight�s rerun of ER made me cry and I hate it and love it for that. Carter�s little speech to Abby at the end where he�ll be the steady thing in her life ripped my heart out. Sure I�ve seen the episode like 10 times, but it hit too close to home tonight.
* Mike�s Hard Lemonade really tastes wonderful with frozen pizza. Especially after the first three.
* I miss MTV2. I think the cable provider here should include it as standard just so that I can see the new Postal Service video.
* I also miss HBO. Sex In The City starts back up here right quick and I am without the station. Thankfully Letterman had Sarah Jessica Parker on for a quick fix.
* Sneezing fits totally suck, but then I go back to the Lance Bass fantasy to calm myself.
* I think I need to tape certain programs on HGTV so that I will become the most knowledgeable person in the Midwest on interior design and houseplants.
* I really should have gone to the gym instead of just taking the dog for a jaunt around the neighborhood.
* Craig Kilburn really does look good right now. I can�t tell if it�s just that I miss numnum or if I find him attractive.
* I have totally missed out on commercials recently. Some of them are just damn funny like the new minivan one with the little kids on trampolines.

In all honesty, I wasted a good portion of the day. But my goodness I needed this lazy nothingness. I feel as though I have reconnected with the daytime pop culture. People who never watch this type of television are missing out on a huge subculture we have in Western Civilization. This subculture of single women with real shapes, you know those who look fantastic who wear a dress size 12-16, live alone or with a roommate in a cute cheap apartment who love to cook and take care of their plants who yearn to find that one person who will promise to be there. Real women. We have jobs and social lives, but give us our frozen pizza, fake malted beverages, and pajama pants and back episodes of our favorite drama.

Did you know that We is running Felicity reruns now too? God, what could be better?

I am tempted to call Chewba again tonight to just talk me to sleep. For some reason that seems like a good idea. One that I won't do, but still seems like a good idea. That's what good guy friends are for. . . talking us to sleep (and vice versa of course).

Until then, let me drool over late night hosts.

currently reading: Timeline - Michael Crichton
currently listening: The Late Late Show on tv

PREV - NEXT