* Now
* Archives
* Disclaimer
* Bio
* Cast
* AIM
* Guestbook
* E-mail
* Notes
* Survey
* Profile
* Reviews
* Quizzes
* Rings
* Reads
* Fanclub
* Clix Me!

All Content and Code �2000-2006 by Red

Hosted by DiaryLand.

Vehicular Insecurities
25 July 2003 @ 10:41 a.m.
The current mood of redness at www.imood.com

The grocery getter is sick. Red mobile is out of commission. My car died on me.

I was leisurely driving along on the way into the waitressing gig. The entire morning had been spent hopping from garage sale to estate sale all over the three-county area, but it was time to finally head into work. Pulled around a corner in town and BOOM! Power steering was gone. It was like I was driving the Torino again. Then the battery light comes on. I�m less than 5 city blocks from the tea room.

This is where I began to pray.

Radio and vents are turned off, prayers continued as I drive ever so cautiously through town. Power steering comes back battery light turns off. Have the prayers been answered? Of course not! As I pull into the parking lot at work the steering goes out again. I park it, turn it off, and begin to freak out in my own very Red fashion.

Remember that the waitressing gig is over 30 minutes away from House#1. Call up the Parentals they decide they will drive over and switch vehicles and pray to get the grocery-getter back to this town to be repaired.

It made it two blocks before giving up all hope.

So my beautiful green station wagon is at a dealership service station in a town far enough away to be a hassle. It�s the perfect icing on the crappy-day-cake.

Wednesday afternoon one of my swimming kids told me point blank that she and her sister didn�t like me and didn�t want to do swimming lessons any more. This from the mouth of a 4 year old is rough. My spirits were crushed for the entire evening. What is it about my teaching style that made them feel that way? Have I become mean? Have I lost my touch by taking off so much time from teaching? What if all the other kids feel the same way but are afraid to tell me?

The insecurities built on top of the original feelings that caused the panic attack before their first lesson. Driving back to the house in tears isn�t the safest thing in the world, but ever so needed. Another swim lesson is scheduled for today � I do hope the kids don�t all hate me by now.

currently reading: Arrow�s Fall � Mercedes Lackey
currently listening: demo cd of new artists

PREV - NEXT