* Now
* Archives
* Disclaimer
* Bio
* Cast
* AIM
* Guestbook
* E-mail
* Notes
* Survey
* Profile
* Reviews
* Quizzes
* Rings
* Reads
* Fanclub
* Clix Me!

All Content and Code �2000-2006 by Red

Hosted by DiaryLand.

Kids Say the Darndest Things
28 July 2003 @ 10:20 p.m.
The current mood of redness at www.imood.com

The mothers look to a fairly sunburned me and state, "You set them up to succeed. They've all learned and we're happy." I smile and pick up the last of my things saying goodbyes to all the kids. The last one, the little blond, looks up to me and says, "Is it true you are leaving? This was the last swim lesson?" I nod my reply and smile warmly at her to say goodbye. She gets the stern little face the only 4 year old little girls can and states quite firmly, "I'm glad I won't have to see you for a long time. I don't like you. I don't like swim lessons. Bye," then turns back to her little friends and their toys scattered about the pool deck.

So I tucked the checks into my little bag and walked out of the pool area knowing that the mothers were happy to have me and the majority of the kids had a great two and a half weeks. But the last little one just rubbed me the wrong way. Her little speech the other day crushed what little hope I had for teaching and now this. If you have never had a 4 year old blonde girl stare at you that way then you should consider yourself lucky. I can't think of what made me more uncomfortable at that moment - my very pink raw skin or her comment.

But the lessons are over. They want me back next year, though I realize it isn't really feasible. Overall I had a good time. I actually got through to a few of the "problem" kids. They had fun. They learned. My job is done.

I also got the great green grocery getter back this afternoon. Almost $300 worth of repairs to get it running again, but now the airconditioner doesn't work. At all. No matter what I put the computer on, I get a full speed fan shooting out hot dry air. The airconditioner worked 75% of the time when I took it in for the repair. I'm honestly very curious how replacing a water pump can ruin another part of the vehicle. It's annoying, anyway, and not healthy for the vehicle. Wonder how much that will cost to fix?

currently reading: Getting over Jack Wagner - Elise Juska
currently listening: Jimmy Eats World - Bleed American

PREV - NEXT