* Now
* Archives
* Disclaimer
* Bio
* Cast
* AIM
* Guestbook
* E-mail
* Notes
* Survey
* Profile
* Reviews
* Quizzes
* Rings
* Reads
* Fanclub
* Clix Me!

All Content and Code �2000-2006 by Red

Hosted by DiaryLand.

Beer Cures Chaos
07 August 2003 @ 9:06 p.m.
The current mood of redness at www.imood.com

Beer is the solution to crabby old women. Labatt and its bubbly wonderfulness are the perfect combination to eliminate bad tippers, complainers, whiners, and blue hairs.

Work sucked today. The four of us working were in complete agreeance within two hours of opening that we needed to head to the bar after work. Chaos erupted in the tiny tea room due to a mishap with some quiche and forty cranky women showing up within twenty minutes of each other.

At precisely 3:00 p.m. the two waitresses, the dishwasher, and the stand-in cook locked the doors and walked across the street to a corner bar. Cheap beer thrown around the table, cigarettes doled out, hair let down and we all started to feel less tense. Played my first game of bar shuffleboard. The game reminds me too much of curling only no ice or brooms.

I hadn�t really drank in months. Two beers this afternoon during happy hour and I was falling back into my element. Sitting in that empty, smoky hole in the wall bar with three people I hardly know and a tiny little blonde bartender who was about twenty years past her prime and I was in a state of euphoria. I miss going to a local pub for cheap beer and pool on a crooked table with a rip in the old felt. You know the place � the one with two 5 balls and no 9.

In ten days I will be moving back up there to my perfect apartment (ok, so the carpet is a little darker than I had expected, but that is a small price to pay for perfection). Back to the local pubs and no one besides T to go to them with. This final year living there will either be wonderful, boring, or as chaotic and nasty as today was inside the pretty pink and white tea room. Only time will tell.

currently reading: Jemima J � Jane Green
currently listening: the tv

PREV - NEXT