* Now
* Archives
* Disclaimer
* Bio
* Cast
* AIM
* Guestbook
* E-mail
* Notes
* Survey
* Profile
* Reviews
* Quizzes
* Rings
* Reads
* Fanclub
* Clix Me!

All Content and Code �2000-2006 by Red

Hosted by DiaryLand.

Great American Pastime
12 August 2003 @ 12:00 a.m.
The current mood of redness at www.imood.com

Shopping � the American pastime. It is the perfect activity for a red-blooded American female and her entourage to boost the sagging economy. I was said red blooded American today.

First off, I am NOT a shopper. I normally do not enjoy going into shops in malls or down posh little streets ogling at overpriced undersized items. Especially clothing items. I have spent the last four years or so in an unintentional, yet bitter, boycott of trendy mall clothing stores due to their oversight of half (maybe more?) the female population. I am not a flat chested size 6. Nor do I yearn to be one. But since I am not, I am unable to waltz into typical Midwestern malls and find the perfect outfits for life.

Something special happened today � the goddess of reality took her powerful wand and waved it over the higher end department stores Sis insisted on going to. And I discovered the beauty of designer clearance racks. Designer clothes priced two or three times above my normal price range on sale for 60-80% off. And better yet, they had things in the �real woman� sizes. I now own a proper silk skirt � an ankle length designer black silk skirt that I found for a third of the original price.

The entire day was spent with Sis and I finding these crazy finds off designer racks in stores such as Saks Fifth Avenue, Nordstrom, and Neiman Marcus. But that was only the clothing, I actually found sales in the home departments as well. Posh trendy home stores such as Crate & Barrel and PotteryBarn also had sales. Massive sales involving my dreams becoming reality. I have the perfect set of lamps now for the new bedroom in the fantabulous new apartment � a set of lamps for $40 including tax.

I truly feel that today has been another prime example of my status as a domestic goddess. Especially the drool I left in Crate & Barrel over a dining room table and chairs, bedframe with matching nightstand, and a few choice accessories such as vases and baskets. I�m certain they get that a lot though.

I was even strong enough to avoid a panic attack being in the same vicinity (read less than one mile) as J�s place. That close and I did not drag Sis to cut his cable line or break windows or any other sort of random aggressive vandalism. Though I was totally aware of the sheer hatred welling up inside my fabulous red coiffure.

I did have a fantastic hair day today. Helped out with fitting in with the upper class women digging through the designer racks alongside me.

currently reading: -
currently listening: -

PREV - NEXT