* Now
* Archives
* Disclaimer
* Bio
* Cast
* AIM
* Guestbook
* E-mail
* Notes
* Survey
* Profile
* Reviews
* Quizzes
* Rings
* Reads
* Fanclub
* Clix Me!

All Content and Code �2000-2006 by Red

Hosted by DiaryLand.

Overworked Day
13 August 2003 @ 10:09 p.m.
The current mood of redness at www.imood.com

Nine hours of work is not all that long. Even nine hours on your feet serving hot tea on a hot humid day usually isn�t all that long. Now, coworkers who insist on standing around slacking off and text messaging one another from opposite ends of the shop, that will make it rough.

Rough doesn�t even really describe it, taxing is better. I worked a normal shift today but then had signed on to work a catered party for the evening to earn some extra cash. It was a busy day, but not hard by any means. As I was setting up for the party I was actually in a decent mood � until the other waitress showed up ten minutes late. She�s a hyper teenager to begin with, but normally she does her work. Tonight she did nothing. Nothing!

The place was packed with blue-haired Methodists for an evening devotion and dinner. Tables were set, food was pre-ordered, iced tea ready to be served � it looked to be an easy evening. But I had no help out in the front. The other waitress stayed back in the kitchen with the boss� son who had been standing in as cook. And then took half the gratuity for the night.

Normally I don�t get bitter about money if it�s earned somewhere. If she had helped cook or wash dishes or anything but no, she did nothing and took home half the gratuity for a private party.

My back throbs right now. I wound up moving tables around by myself at the end of the shift even after I asked for help.

Why do people work when they admit they hate it and admit they would prefer not to come in? Or I should say, why do people come into their work place and �work� under said circumstances. I did my job and I did it well. I just wish that other people took pride in their accomplishments, no matter how small. I just wish other people took responsibility for themselves and their work.

Tomorrow we work together again � I just hope she feels like doing something productive.

currently reading: Guilty Feet � Kelly Harte
currently listening: Mix Tape of 90s Grunge

PREV - NEXT