* Now
* Archives
* Disclaimer
* Bio
* Cast
* AIM
* Guestbook
* E-mail
* Notes
* Survey
* Profile
* Reviews
* Quizzes
* Rings
* Reads
* Fanclub
* Clix Me!

All Content and Code �2000-2006 by Red

Hosted by DiaryLand.

Feminine Female
11 September 2003 @ 8:05 p.m.
The current mood of redness at www.imood.com

There is a very feminine version of Red emerging from this shell of a geek. Realizing the significant changes in your own life can be a bit shocking, as I discovered getting dressed today.

Two years ago I would have thrown on jeans and a random clean shirt, thrown my hair up and left. No make-up, no brushing of the hair, nothing. Yet today as I donned my linen pants and shirt I discovered that I am more comfortable this way. It�s find that I am more careful about the bun in my hair � ensuring the hair stick holding it in place matches the color scheme of the day.

This all started back in April or so. Very slowly I began doing my nails again (something I stopped while dating J), then moved up and purchased a curling iron. Over the summer I found a purse to carry and designer clothes. And now I find myself shaving my legs and wearing mascara on a daily basis.

I still can�t believe I�m shaving my legs � so much effort for so little results.

My gut reaction was to blame Chewba, though I know the transition from nerd to girl started long before we decided to test out this level. The apartment is only feeding the femininity with its plethora of greenery and matching 300-thread count sheets. The bathtub doesn�t hurt either.

The question is, am I still following my ideals through this transition? Can I still consider myself a Cultural Feminist? Can I still proclaim my equality and independence with the same vigor? Is this just the real me heading out to the exterior shell? Or the big question, is it still kosher to dress this way and play D&D or total geeked-out computer games such as StarCraft and not be a walking contradiction?

currently reading: -
currently listening: Sneaker Pimps � Becoming X

PREV - NEXT