* Now
* Archives
* Disclaimer
* Bio
* Cast
* AIM
* Guestbook
* E-mail
* Notes
* Survey
* Profile
* Reviews
* Quizzes
* Rings
* Reads
* Fanclub
* Clix Me!

All Content and Code �2000-2006 by Red

Hosted by DiaryLand.

Steady Future
25 September 2003 @ 2:00 p.m.
The current mood of redness at www.imood.com

Time to add two new characters to the cast, though are not new to my life. We'll call them the Wiseman and the Imp, two old friends who are enganged to be married. I've known Wiseman for years and actually met Imp right about the same time as I met Chewba and Chewba and Wiseman are incredibly close friends.

Anyway, Chewba is standing in their wedding in a few months and I have recently been informed that I will be his date for it.

The couple recently bought a house in the area and have been working on fixing it up before the wedding. Imp is living there for the time being, Wiseman will be moving in after the wedding (obviously). Chewba spends a fair amount of time up there on weekends roofing and painting.

Last night Imp and I had dinner together, just the two of us, then I taught her how to hang window treatments. Two women in their twenties who've known each other well for years just being all domestic without their men. I haven't felt so completely relaxed in a while now.

Conversation obviously revolved around relationships - her coming to terms with the end of the four year courtship and preparing for marriage, Chewba and I finally getting together, the parallels between the relationships, parental influence, etc.

I finally felt like myself. Not Red the student, but just Red - the twentysomething who is ready for a steady life and honestly ready to settle down with someone. The Red who has a few choice girlfriends and spends spare time hanging new curtains in a kitchen. The Red who has someone to come home to at night who will just hold her. Just me. No titles or positions related to the university or the fraternity or anything, but the person inside it all.

I hate student life these days. My desire to continue (and finish) my education is disipating. I yearn for the quiet life of a steady job, a home, and someone to share it with. Evenings spent in an easy chair knitting while watching movies, cooking meals for two instead of one, having a morning bathroom routine. I see where Imp and Wiseman are headed and I crave that.

currently reading: -
currently listening: Indigo Girls Mix

PREV - NEXT