* Now
* Archives
* Disclaimer
* Bio
* Cast
* AIM
* Guestbook
* E-mail
* Notes
* Survey
* Profile
* Reviews
* Quizzes
* Rings
* Reads
* Fanclub
* Clix Me!

All Content and Code �2000-2006 by Red

Hosted by DiaryLand.

subcultures
03 October 2003 @ 3:34 p.m.
The current mood of redness at www.imood.com

The ickyness is now officially a sinus infection. There is nothing more appetizing than waking up and having to cough up green sludge. Mmmm.

Last night the Sci Fi channel offered up the delectable three-part Dune movie. I picked up my knitting and went over to Chewba's where his roommates, their friends, Chewba, and myself sat there for six hours in the warmth of the television. One roomie sitting in a lazyboy with a lap-top and wireless connection writing a paper while reading Dune bulliten boards, another on the floor eating an entire box of generic macaroni & cheese, Chewba pulling out a bottle of wine for him and I, me sitting on the couch with my knitting - and all of us discussing various sci-fi/fantasy topics throughout the commercials. Conversation ranged from the Star Wars novels that follow the movies to old video games to the errors in the movie in comparison to the book.

It was peaceful and completely geeked out. Chewba even had the nerve to call me a dork based on my choices of novels and video games. As if he has the right to call anyone a dork.

As I sat there, I considered how my other groups of acquaintences would react to the setting. The girls I work with in volunteering or even at the theatre would never set foot in that environment. The subculture apparent at technology-based universities just intrigues me. The males with their obsessions ranging from robots to online RPG games to original atari games to sci-fi movies. Females engrossed in fantasty novels and discussion groups not noticing or minding they are outnumbered 7 to 1. The dress, the style, the feeling - all very unique.

I am part of this subculture, though can honestly say I am part of others as well.

Just my observations for the day as I take another dose of mega-meds trying to fight off the sleepyness and icky feelings.

currently reading: Cordelia's Honor - Lois McMaster Bujold
currently listening: that dog - that dog

PREV - NEXT