* Now
* Archives
* Disclaimer
* Bio
* Cast
* AIM
* Guestbook
* E-mail
* Notes
* Survey
* Profile
* Reviews
* Quizzes
* Rings
* Reads
* Fanclub
* Clix Me!

All Content and Code �2000-2006 by Red

Hosted by DiaryLand.

Thanksgiving Tripping
25 November 2003 @ 11:15 p.m.
The current mood of redness at www.imood.com

The trip south was a success. A long, tiring, treacherous trip, but a success nonetheless. I didn�t drive it alone, which was both a relief and a burden all at the same time. While I wasn�t responsible for the gas money or my lunch, I wasn�t allowed those hours of thinking time where I scream at myself for being stupid or wonderful or whatever.

Instead I drove the irresponsible male ex-housemate down. He�s a good kid at heart, but he isn�t considerate to others� plans and such when they extend a helping hand. For example, I wanted to leave town around 10:00 a.m. I told him that I would be there at 9:30 a.m. to pack up the car, knowing full well that he�s always running late. I show up at 9:45ish and he isn�t there. He shows up at 10:45 a.m. I�ve been waiting at his house for an hour and he isn�t even packed yet. We begin the drive down and he proceeds to tell me that he doesn�t know what time or exactly where we are meeting up with his mother, just the town. So we stop and make a few phone calls and I wind up driving a different way down here that adds two hours to my drive but the mother isn�t even there to pick him up due to weather issues. We both wind up driving here to my parents� house in the end. Call his mother; she can meet us nearby in the morning. Fine, wonderful. Morning comes; she said she would call before she left. Morning goes � at noon he calls their house and she hasn�t left yet. Like mother like son. Finally get rid of him early afternoon. I did my best not to seem cranky or upset or anything by his actions. While he did apologize, I�m sick and tired of offering to help people at the last minute and then having them trompse all over my kindness.

In other news, Chewba called here last night to ensure I made it safe. The Mother, while she�s never met him, now thinks he is ten thousand times better for me than J ever was. He doesn�t know it yet, but the brownie points earned with that one short phone call will allow him to slide right into my family life. And I think that�s exactly where I want him to be.

But now I must sleep. I will be driving to pick up Sis for the big family holiday of Thanksgiving in the morning. The entire family together for two fun-filled days. Exciting, no?

currently reading: �
currently listening: Local Hip Hop Radio Station

PREV - NEXT