* Now
* Archives
* Disclaimer
* Bio
* Cast
* AIM
* Guestbook
* E-mail
* Notes
* Survey
* Profile
* Reviews
* Quizzes
* Rings
* Reads
* Fanclub
* Clix Me!

All Content and Code �2000-2006 by Red

Hosted by DiaryLand.

Degrassi Thoughts
07 December 2003 @ 12:15 p.m.
The current mood of redness at www.imood.com

Last night found me sitting around watching television. Not just any television though � I was watching Degrassi. That�s right, the fantastic Canadian show of the lives of kids who attend the Degrassi Community School.

Growing up on the US Canadian border allowed me to first get hooked on Degrassi Junior High back in the late 80s. I of course followed the cast through High School watching Chrissy with her pregnancy and Joey Jeremiah and Snake get into trouble. Isn�t that what every kid between 12 and 19 did if they were Canadian or fortunate enough to live close enough to get Global and CBC on their TVs?

I�ve known about the next generation and how it�s rebroadcasted on the US network, The N and have actually watched it several times. But last night I watched episode after episode after episode; totally engrossed in my adolescence. Got me thinking about what my middle school years were like, how I acted at 13 and 14. The mean things that girls did to me and how I reacted.

Am I any different now, deep down, than I was at 14? Am I still that scared little girl just searching for people to honestly know her and care about her? Do I still see myself walking alone in the overcrowded hallways of life?

Friends of mine poke fun at my television watching habits, saying that I�m a bit old to still watch shows like Degrassi. It makes me wonder if they are just as young inside as I am, or if they really have come to terms with the 14 year old inside them.

Just the thoughts of the late morning�

currently reading: Wish You Well � David Baldacci
currently listening: Entire MP3 list (Dee-Lite � Groove in the heart)

PREV - NEXT