* Now
* Archives
* Disclaimer
* Bio
* Cast
* AIM
* Guestbook
* E-mail
* Notes
* Survey
* Profile
* Reviews
* Quizzes
* Rings
* Reads
* Fanclub
* Clix Me!

All Content and Code �2000-2006 by Red

Hosted by DiaryLand.

Good Things
11 December 2003 @ 9:22 a.m.
The current mood of redness at www.imood.com

A beautiful, fluffy white coating covers the world today. Flakes float gently from the sky, tossed around by a chill wind. The world is white again; white with snow in mass quantities. And my mood, as usual, has lifted so high I can�t seem to measure it.

But it isn�t just the snow � it is the events of yesterday as a whole being topped off by over a foot of fluffy white.

Good Thing #1 � Attend second to last course of Foreign Policy. I received the two papers back I had rewritten per the instructor�s request; went from no grade to two As. Fantastic. Prof tells me I�m still in hot water with her, but a strong final essay will fix that. Also gives me the good news that I�ve been accepted into the semi-independent-study-final-course for international law studies for next semester. Course has 5 students that were hand picked by the two political science graduate professors, and they accepted me.

Good Thing #2 � Chewba had my car for the afternoon (his will finally be fixed on the 22nd � I can�t wait!), came back to the apartment around 6:30 p.m. to find me curled up in the papasan studying for a final. Dinner discussion begins, I suggest that he rummage through my cupboards and we�ll cook here for the night. But he has other plans, and takes me out to the seafood restaurant on the fly. Dinner was nice � fish, beer, and a waitress that really needed more tables. After the surprise dinner, I was full and content to head back home and study all night.

Good Things #3, 4, 5� Was at home studying (and staying on task for once) in the peace of the clean apartment. Lights fairly low, Thievery Corporation on the stereo, books scattered about the floor. Was nice. Chewba calls to see how I�m doing, I tell him I need a change of scenery and am going to continue studying over at his place. The three remaining house members and their significant others of his house were all in the entryway discussing recent events (one of the kids who went crazy with all the drama of late was a housemate of theirs). We all decided that we could live without any more drama for a while. In fact, we (Ari, Chewba, et al) made a semi-pact to prevent drama for an undetermined amount of time. I was able to study for another hour or so, before Chewba got all antsy and asked if he could give me my Christmas present now. He�s the absolute worst at saving gifts for the actual holidays. I agreed, and continued to study as he ran to the attic. Down he comes with 4 large white Pier One boxes, unwrapped. Pulls a chair in front of me and says, �Merry Christmas, Red.� I open the top box to find the white wine glasses of the barware set I fell in love with at Pier One. But that wasn�t all, he tells me as I open the next box to find the pilsner glass from the same set. It turned out to be a set of 4 with a pitcher from the entire line. That�s right, the entire line. Each piece had been de-stickered, washed, and packed into the boxes by hand. I don�t think I said thank you enough to him last night. But he didn�t stop there, we repacked everything into the boxes then he gathered me up into his arms and didn�t let go until this morning. The night made up for us not being able to spend any time together, let alone curl up next to each other, for the past few days. There�s something about being held tightly for hours on end by someone who loves you more than you can possibly imagine.

And then have the snow be so breath taking when you awaken with a smile. I wish I had a digital camera right now to show you all what a fresh foot of snow looks like in what some call �God�s Country�.

currently reading: Wish You Well - David Baldacci
currenly listening: Buddha Bar IV Drink

PREV - NEXT