* Now
* Archives
* Disclaimer
* Bio
* Cast
* AIM
* Guestbook
* E-mail
* Notes
* Survey
* Profile
* Reviews
* Quizzes
* Rings
* Reads
* Fanclub
* Clix Me!

All Content and Code �2000-2006 by Red

Hosted by DiaryLand.

Cold
23 January 2004 @ 8:10 a.m.
The current mood of redness at www.imood.com

Holy fuck it is cold.

I have no other way to describe the weather here. And since there is nothing going on due to the obscene cold and amount of snow, I am left discussing the weather. Snowbanks are now taller than my car. The temperature is somewhere around -6 F, but with the windchill it is supposedly closer to -35 F. But we all know that temps between 0 and -10 all feel the same � similar to -11 to -40.

Supposed to get a few more inches of snow tonight too. Inches predicted, we�ll see how the Lake responds though. It�s one of the miracles of Mother Nature, how the water changes weather to suit itself. Leaves me wondering how I could ever move away from this. Could I ever move away from this?

One thing is that I�m terribly thankful to be in the new apartment instead of my old house. Insulation is such a blessing! I don�t hear the wind whipping across the old windows. I can�t feel it coming through the walls. It�s amazing to be able to sit and read or watch television without bundling up. There�s also the wonder of not having to shovel a million steps several times a day.

* * *

The above was written late last night as I was preparing to snuggle into my bed alone. But Chewba came over after his hockey game. Thing is � I honestly did not want him here. There was nothing totally out of the ordinary, he came in took off his boots and coat at the door, gave me a hug as I quickly closed the windows to the journal work I was doing, then he sat at the computer and played games for like an hour as I finished getting ready for bed. It honestly felt like my independence was slipping through my fingers.

I was terribly excited when we finally got his car running over the winter break. It meant that I would be free of driving him everywhere and/or loaning him my car on a daily basis. But the snow took the car away again, though temporarily, leaving me in the role of chauffer once again. I hate to say it, but right now I feel suffocated.

Now I�m awake and attempting to gather my wits to attend my one course today. I�m cold and tired and just want to crawl back into bed � alone � for another hour or so. But he�s there, waiting for me to wake him so that we can head to campus together. It would have been better if we didn�t have class again today.

currently reading: Quicksilver � Neal Stephenson
currently listening: Today show on tv

PREV - NEXT