* Now
* Archives
* Disclaimer
* Bio
* Cast
* AIM
* Guestbook
* E-mail
* Notes
* Survey
* Profile
* Reviews
* Quizzes
* Rings
* Reads
* Fanclub
* Clix Me!

All Content and Code �2000-2006 by Red

Hosted by DiaryLand.

What a Weekend
11 April 2004 @ 10:11 p.m.
The current mood of redness at www.imood.com

***WARNING***
Absurdly long entry to follow. So much happening with little technology to update this here journal, three days will now be condensed to one webpage. Proceed with caution and rations.
******

Having a birthday weekend rolled into a major holiday weekend can be interesting. I�ve had to deal with this my entire life and have come to accept the challenges. Such as having a birthday on the Christian Good Friday when you come from a fairly strict Lutheran family. What it means now though, is that people you might want to spend time with travel to see their loved ones instead of hanging out with you.

Hence how the motley crew came to be this past Friday evening.

Chewba had been on my case all week about what I wanted to do, me being the one who always pleases others and not herself had no idea other than something �fun� was completely indecisive until the last minute. I sent out e-mails to a few choice people saying that I wanted to go to the movie on campus that evening then head to a bar. No idea which bar, just a bar since I hadn�t been out to one and honestly drank and relaxed in forever.

In fact, prior to Friday, I had not truly been drunk or anything near it since August.

So Chewba and I meet up with one of the Girls (the one I�ve known longer and get on with a bit better) for the movie. Several others couldn�t make the movie due to travel plans or meetings, which was unfortunate since it was a fantastic film.

Wound up heading to the bar I used to frequent every Thursday night with the old crowd. Sat down and started drinking. A few others filtered in that I had invited and a few that I had not but the single member of the �Girls� had invited my old friends from the theatre (she used to work there too back when it first opened). So I had one of my closer girlfriends, the scruffy stage crew from the theatre, Chewba, and a few of the older Brothers sitting in a bar I used to frequent with my ex-boyfriend.

Nothing better for an interesting night, no?

The bartender is a friend of Chewba�s and thus my drinks are mostly free for the evening. The waitress is incompetent but we forgave her, well, sort of. First few drinks down the hatch and I�m feeling just fine.

Then my phone rang � it was one of the Aunts with her entire family singing to me over a speakerphone into my cell � in harmony. It was after 10:00 p.m. and her kids are just screaming incoherently into the telephone things like �Happy Birthday� and �Happy Easter� and other randomness. Now, this Aunt NEVER calls me. I house sat for her last summer and that was the most contact I have had with her in years. Secondly, it was past 10:00 p.m. and her elementary school aged children were awake and screaming. Thirdly, her tool of a husband figured out that I was in a bar and continued to talk about that and the fact that I was with Chewba over and over and on and on.

All this while sipping my fourth drink.

I am not embarrassed by the drinking or the bar � but to have this sort of conversation with your mother�s baby sister and her bible-beating husband and Christian school children late at night was just a bit too much to handle. I wonder if they are hitting the happy pills a little too heavily after dinner.

Chewba drove my smashed ass home later that night � me grinning from ear to ear with homemade carrot cake cupcakes and red wine in hand. He was a total sweetheart and helped me to bed forcing me to drink another glass of water.

If only it actually prevented the second worst hangover of my life.

Woke up at my normal time on Saturday with a headache the size of a 1980s Buick and just felt overly ill. Drank some water, washed the face, took some Advil and went back to bed. Woke up again around 9:00 a.m. and felt worse. Puked for the first time in ages, but goddamn did that feel good. Drank more water, brushed my teeth, and slept until 4:00 p.m.

High Stress Week + Barely Eating for more than three days + several mixed drinks + overtired little red girl = hangover.

The remainder of Saturday was spent napping, munching on food, playing GTA � Vice City, and being crabby. The hangover dreams were all about marriage and other oddities. One dream was absolutely horrific and kept me in a strange trance for the evening. All I remember is that I was pregnant with Chewba�s baby, we were doing laundry and then Bubbles was there. We were absolutely broke so I called J to help us out financially. Then there was a lot of laundry, and I looked horrific seven months pregnant. Needless to say, the dreams were creepy.

We all know (well, you would if you have been reading these past two weeks) that my computer decided to get sick and certain parts are dying off. Almost like a leprosy for computer hardware � lose a zip drive one day, CD burner won�t write the next, modem works part of the time, etc. So today I set to fix it.

I am triumphant! This silly machine that has been rebuilt more times than most demolition derby cars now purrs like a kitten with all its limbs. I proceeded to work off the last of the hangover by reformatting partitions of my hard drives and knitting. Totally therapeutic � in fact, I highly recommend knitting through installations of operating systems.

The snow outside motivated me to just play catch-up today. So I cleared my head of another night of wedding dreams (it�s getting scary actually) and finished up menial tasks around the apartment as I reinstalled everything. I feel accomplished and positive though I know I have so much yet to complete. So my next task is to create the TO DO list for this week. Should be shorter and more fun. I hope.

But now I will end this ridiculously long peek into my head and life and say Happy Easter to all! Here is my card to the world � enjoy! Just click here to view it.

currently reading: -
currently listening: Sleepy female MP3 mix

PREV - NEXT