* Now
* Archives
* Disclaimer
* Bio
* Cast
* AIM
* Guestbook
* E-mail
* Notes
* Survey
* Profile
* Reviews
* Quizzes
* Rings
* Reads
* Fanclub
* Clix Me!

All Content and Code �2000-2006 by Red

Hosted by DiaryLand.

No Frost Today
05 May 2004 @ 9:35 a.m.
The current mood of redness at www.imood.com

It�s a cold, damp, gray morning as I awoke and jumped in the shower. Chewba rolled over as I hopped out of bed an hour earlier than normal but did not awake. The shower felt good as I rolled random information around in my head � facts about the US in the 1920s and 1930s. Showered, dressed, breakfasted, and out the door all as the sun was peaking over the northeastern horizon. No frost on the windshield today, but everything is damp. Driving through the back roads I follow an old Toyota with a beautiful, happy Brittney Spaniel in the back. I smile as I think of the dogs Chewba and I were looking at earlier in the week. Arrival on campus is uneventful, though later than I had originally planned. Walking up to the building I mention to myself that this is the last one ever, last time I�ll need to be inside this brick structure, last time hearing the voice of this person. The classroom is already filled as I enter. Scantron sheets float around the long tables, peers pull out their trusty No. 2 pencils and begin another task in the academic life. Thoughts flying through my head are mellowed as I darkened the bubbles for my identification. This is the end, this is the last one.

As I sit here now, I hardly remember exactly what the exam covered, just the tone of my personal thoughts through the process. I am now happy, giddy even. It is done. My collegiate career is over. As I walked out of that classroom, I thanked the professor for giving me the final exam I will have to deal with as an undergraduate. But no words could convey the smile that crossed my face as I walked through the doors out into the world. If only the sun broke through the low, thick, heavy clouds for just a moment � just long enough for Mother Nature to smile on me, to show how proud she is of my accomplishments.

If all goes well, by the end of today I will have completed every last task necessary for my graduation. If all goes well, this feeling of contentment will continue for days, weeks, months. If all goes well, the bookstore will give me a prime price on all of the textbooks scanned by my eyes in the past few months. If all goes well everything will just fall into place for my future, for our future. If all goes well, I�ll remember this feeling of accomplishment forever.

currently reading: Cryptonomicon � Neal Stephenson
currently listening: Radio VH1 Jet Set

PREV - NEXT