* Now
* Archives
* Disclaimer
* Bio
* Cast
* AIM
* Guestbook
* E-mail
* Notes
* Survey
* Profile
* Reviews
* Quizzes
* Rings
* Reads
* Fanclub
* Clix Me!

All Content and Code �2000-2006 by Red

Hosted by DiaryLand.

Private Time
18 October 2004 @ 7:40 a.m.
The current mood of redness at www.imood.com

I�ve noticed that I haven�t been writing much as of late � whether here in the old journal or elsewhere. Is it just that I have nothing to say? No dreams? No social commentary? No realizations about the world?

Or is it that I have no private time anymore?

I�m going for the latter.

In fact, the only private time I have these days is between 7:00 a.m. and 8:00 a.m. I am supposed to be living alone. And really, I�m not working all that much (less than 50 hours per week). So where did the private time disappear to?

Last night it became readily apparent to me as I attempted to participate in the new Sunday ritual. . . and Chewba then began complaining about how I was �hogging the entertainment� since I was watching tv and wouldn�t allow him to change the channel as well as using the computer. I responded that it was my house and my Sunday night, though then reluctantly got up from the computer and only watched television.

He just moved in to his own place here in the Cities, but he refuses to spend any time there. We both agreed that we wouldn�t be living together for a myriad of reasons yet now that he has a home to go to, he doesn�t go to it. So me being the blunt woman that I am, I flat out asked him when he was going home last night. He comes back with that he has no food at his place since we bought groceries together and kept it here � so instead of taking a box of shredded wheat with him to go home, he�s asleep here. And since he�s here and still asleep, when I leave for work in fifteen minutes he�ll still be here with my apartment keys (as I only have one set) � forcing him to come back here (if he ever leaves) to let me into my own apartment later this afternoon. But if I�m here, he won�t leave thus exacerbating the problem.

He knows that I need my alone time. We�ve discussed it. It�s one of the main reasons why we don�t live together since we can�t afford a place big enough for both of us. He knows that I have my routines that I need to stick to. I know that his routines are different from mine about certain things. We�ve never had this problem before now. . . before he refuses to go to his new home that he�s paying for.

I do hope that I can convince him to just go home tonight and sleep there. In fact, it wouldn�t be so bad to not sleep together for the next week or so � just do dinners together. I�m finding that I am not able to get my work done at home that I need to do with him here. Every time I sit down at the computer/desk to fill out paper work, work on lesson plans, figure out banking issues � he gets all touchy-feely and distracting. It�s like he wants me to get in trouble with the government, banks, and my job.

Now all I need to do is figure a way to convince him that I need him gone after dinnertime at night so that I can work/relax/get enough sleep. Ideas?

currently listening: Morning News
currently reading: Anna Karenina by Tolstoy

PREV - NEXT