* Now
* Archives
* Disclaimer
* Bio
* Cast
* AIM
* Guestbook
* E-mail
* Notes
* Survey
* Profile
* Reviews
* Quizzes
* Rings
* Reads
* Fanclub
* Clix Me!

All Content and Code �2000-2006 by Red

Hosted by DiaryLand.

Simplicity - Thoreau style
06 April 2003 @ 10:41 p.m.
The current mood of redness at www.imood.com

Sis rocks my little world today.

A small package arrived yesterday (though see the previous entry about getting mail here). A candies shoe box (size 7) wrapped up tightly in Postal Service tape and her messy, wanna-be girly, handwriting. It's my birthday present from her. I hardly ever recieve tangible presents anymore.

So inside this little shoe box is the following:
* two old navy t-shirts properly sized
* a set of four tahitian vanilla votive candles
* pewter bookmark with the inscription, "Go confidently into the direction of your dreams. Thoreau"
* four colored glass candle holders
* a Borders gift certificate for $15.00
* a sappy "Happy Birthday, Sis" card
* a photograph of the last time I saw her (grandparents' house on Christmas)

Yes, she fit all that into the little box. Sis rocks my world. Granted I have no idea where she got the money to mail it, let alone purchase the stuff inside, but who cares. My first official present for my birthday. Heck, she even remembered how much I dig Thoreau. I wonder if she remembers that I went out to his memorial Waldon thing when I still lived with them.

Anyway...

I'm in a decent mood tonight. Something I'd like to keep for a while. I feel it's an appropriate time for another list of the Simple Things. So here they are for tonight:
* Housemate actually vaccuumed the entire house this afternoon
* clean, flannel sheets on the little bed
* free Subway for lunch
* Candlebox, Soundgarden, Alice in Chains, and Faith No More on the radio earlier
* knowing that Ari will be living in the same building with me next year
* freshly moisturized legs and feet
* knowing my birthday is in three days
* knowing that I will be in Chicago in four days
* the ability to go to bed before 1:00am
* and of course, it was a decent hair day

currently reading: Faith of the Fallen - Terry Goodkind
currently listening: 90s Alternative Station from Netscape Radio (Cake - Never There)

PREV - NEXT