* Now
* Archives
* Disclaimer
* Bio
* Cast
* AIM
* Guestbook
* E-mail
* Notes
* Survey
* Profile
* Reviews
* Quizzes
* Rings
* Reads
* Fanclub
* Clix Me!

All Content and Code �2000-2006 by Red

Hosted by DiaryLand.

The Date
17 May 2003 @ 1:24 p.m.
The current mood of redness at www.imood.com

Chewba and I had our little "date" last night. Date is an interesting word though. I have no other way of describing what we did, though date implies a planned outing between two interested parties. This was more like two good friends hanging out doing "date" activities. Totally comfortable, no expectations, too much laughing, not enough beer, late night.

We started off the night down at one of the bars for burgers and beer with two friends of ours. They are engaged, so it looked and partly felt, like a double date. As we were walking through the bar to go out to the deck to sit, I heard someone calling my name from the bar. I turn around, and there is the Designer Guy sitting there smiling. He was all happy that he'd run into me because he still felt awful about what happened the last time we went out to the bar. As we all remember, he was plastered and didn't quite remember what happened that night. He was totally afraid that he had offended me or hurt me in some way. (He didn't wind up hooking up with the other girl at the bar either, I found it interesting he felt he had to tell me that) He said that he wanted to see me again if he could. Total gentleman still. I was completely unprepared for seeing him. Completely. We chatted for a while, until I remembered that I had come in with Chewba and the others, so I excused myself to go eat.

Dinner cracked me up. Those three are just silly to be out with. They enjoyed their beer, I didn't drink since I'm still feeling crappy. Sat out on the deck and enjoyed the sunset. It was good, really good. Designer Guy came up to our table to say goodbye to me when he got ready to leave, again, total gentleman and unexpected.

Chewba and I went off on our own after dinner. Stopped by my house so I could grab a sweater then ran to his place so he could do the same, then we went out to see the Matrix Reloaded. I paid for the tickets, then we split the soda and popcorn. Again, total "date" activity.

The movie though. . . wow. The Matrix movies question so many convictions, ideologies, and philosophies all at once. That is why I love them. Sure the special effects are fantastic and the characters fairly well developed, but the ability to question everything we believe in and parallel religion and philosophy. Why do we believe what we believe in?

Chewba and I had a great discussion afterwards about philosophy and religion. He wanted me to head to his place for drinks, but it was late and well, I'm still feeling fairly crappy.

It was a good night. I even slept well when I got home. No hacking up black crap or anything. No nightmares. Just contentment.

currently reading: Damia - Anne McCaffrey
currently listening: 90s Alternative station of Netscape Radio

PREV - NEXT