* Now
* Archives
* Disclaimer
* Bio
* Cast
* AIM
* Guestbook
* E-mail
* Notes
* Survey
* Profile
* Reviews
* Quizzes
* Rings
* Reads
* Fanclub
* Clix Me!

All Content and Code �2000-2006 by Red

Hosted by DiaryLand.

Future Hopes
21 April 2004 @ 1:01 p.m.
The current mood of redness at www.imood.com

It�s been several days since I last updated. While I�ve had things to say, it is so hard to take this entry from the main page as it says so much that underlies what I do. So I just say ditto to the previous entry and then we�ll move on.

The conference in Chicago was amazing in so many ways. I was both extremely high and extremely low as I literally saw my future begin to unfold. I believe most of it is summed up in what is written below � something I wrote while sitting in a seminar in Chicago Saturday morning.

�Sitting here during the final presentation of one of the major camp gurus. My stomach is upset and I just want to get away. He is fantastic as he describes how to set up the perfect staff and camp feeling. For some reason, I am more filled with fear than the spirit of camp. Fear of my future � near and distant. He knows my name as I help with the running of the room, passing out hand-outs and collecting information. I feel honored, special and in the spotlight for one moment � this one moment in time where I hope to get my name out to the camping community.

This is day three of the conference and I have been uplifted, depressed, hopeful, fearful, excited, pumped, nervous, and uncomfortable. The true mix of feelings is real � this is life, this is what we deal with. The presenter talks on about teaching how to learn in the perfect camp environment. I am trying to hide my yawns that have appeared though I am not tired, just read for some alone time with the sunshine and my knitting��

(As a note, I was the speaker�s assistant during this seminar creating a unique opportunity for me to sit in the back and yet have everyone in the room know my name and associate it with one of the most well-known and well-respected camping people in the nation. The writing was choppy from getting up and down to provide the perfect seminar experience for the 250 people in the room)

The drive home was scary in a way, as I knew that I was following a terrible storm that ripped through northeastern Wisconsin minutes before me. But I made it safe and sound back to my apartment where Chewba was waiting for me. He had news that might be fantastic but I don�t want to go into it now for fear that I will jinx it. Just know that our future might be falling together better than I had ever hoped.

currently reading: Cryptonomicon by Neil Stephenson
currently listening: -

PREV - NEXT