* Now
* Archives
* Disclaimer
* Bio
* Cast
* AIM
* Guestbook
* E-mail
* Notes
* Survey
* Profile
* Reviews
* Quizzes
* Rings
* Reads
* Fanclub
* Clix Me!

All Content and Code �2000-2006 by Red

Hosted by DiaryLand.

Poor Girl with Dirty Linens
04 April 2004 @ 3:54 p.m.
The current mood of redness at www.imood.com

The seemingly perfect apartment and its seemingly perfect landlord have changed status. The apartment itself is still perfect; don�t get me wrong, but the landlord, well, not so much.

For those who haven�t been reading forever, I�m handicapped � though I hate the term, sometimes I have to admit it. My spine is mush below the rib cage. This is something I had to take into account when searching for the perfect apartment. No stairs and laundry on site was a must. Which is why I moved here to the beautiful first floor apartment with its huge south and west windows with the laundry room just across the hall. Ok, now we�re all caught up.

The building the apartment is in has been under constant construction since I moved in, which I really don�t mind now that the parking lot is completed. This past week they were finishing up last minute details of the hallway outside my place as well as working on the laundry room. Nothing too major.

That is until I checked the laundry room to see if anyone was using it about an hour ago. I find that the washers and dryers that were there have been replaced and not all the new ones are hooked up yet. But the big thing is THE DRYERS HAVE COIN THINGYS ON THEM NOW. I was told that the washers would be pay and the dryers free. These new machines now are $2.00 for a wash and $1.00 for drying. THIS IS ABSURD. The laundromat down the street is now cheaper, meaning that I have to carry my laundry through the snow.

Here�s where I pull the handicapped card.

I am literally unable to carry heavy things unless I have dry, solid, flat ground to walk on. Heavy things like baskets of laundry out to the parking lot. But it is now significantly cheaper to do my laundry elsewhere � by almost a dollar a load in fact.

Tomorrow the seemingly perfect landlord is getting a phone call or a visit to his office. We had a verbal agreement and he knew that is why I moved here in the first place. I am not happy nor should I be. Sure it�s only two months until my lease is up, but that isn�t a factor any more. I�m broke and have piles of dirty linens.

currently reading: -
currently listening: Portishead � Pedestal

PREV - NEXT